Trollhunter

Trollhunter

 

2011

 

Distributed by: SF Norge A/S

 

Directed by: André Øvredal

 

Staring: Otto Jespersen, Hans Morten Hansen, Tomas Alf Larsen, Johanna Mørck, Knut Nærum, Robert Stoltenberg, and Glenn Erland Tosterud

 

 

 

**THERE ARE SPOILERS IN THIS POST**

 

 

**Since Trollhunter is less than 20 years old there is a spoiler alert.  I can’t give my review without spoilers so this is your last chance to turn back.**

 

 

Trollhunter is a Norwegian found footage style mockumentary.  I was skeptical at first because it was a foreign film and in my past experiences I didn’t enjoy them all that much.  I was happy that this wasn’t like other one that I had seen in the past.  I enjoy the shows about tracking bigfoot and this is similar, except you actually get to see the creature being tracked.

 

I tried to watch it with English being spoken but I couldn’t get over how their mouths didn’t line up with what was being said, so I watched it in Norwegian with the captions.  The locations were just fantastic!  Since it was actually filmed in Norway there were some great views of the fjords and mountains.  It also serves as an insight somewhat to their culture because of the references.  Trolls are the main one but also Three Billy Goats Gruff.  I also enjoyed the whole aesthetic of the movie.  It was the perfect amount of grittiness (because a solid portion was in the rugged wilderness) and humor with a touch of scary.  The trolls were CGI and I’ve seen better but I’ve also seen worse.  The outfits were just like normal American ones except no one was wearing shorts and a short sleeved shirt in the snow.  The music was good and it fit the scenes well when there was any.  It kind of relies on dialogue and background noise with not much music to give it a true found footage feel.  I think the only actual song was during the end credits and a short clip, like maybe 10 seconds, from the radio.  One issue I had was the screaming or vocalizations from the trolls.  They are very loud and sometimes high pitched.  I forgot about that part, and I was wearing headphones at them time so I jumped.  The fact that I am easily startled beside, I use it as background noise to study with.  I find that not knowing the language and lack of music calming.  I can tell when they are talking about bears because they say it so often.  The film students that go on this adventure act like normal college kids, they’re just there to have a good time and film a poacher.  The acting was very natural, as it should be, but apparently most of it was improvised.  I really like the lack of romance in the movie too.  The closest thing to love was when two characters hugged as a goodbye.  Overall this is a great movie but there is a little bit of gore.  You just see some blood, guts, and what the camera sees as someone presumably gets eaten by a troll.  I’m trying to get some of my friends to watch it.

One thought on “Trollhunter

Leave a Reply

