Back In The Day

I was vegetarian for five years and stopped last year around this time.  I decided to try and get healthier and I figured modifying my diet would be easier than modifying my exercise routine.  People would ask if I switched because of the poor treatment of animals and yes we do treat them badly but it wasn’t my main reason.  I ended up losing 10 pounds soon after I switched from a meat heavy diet to an ovo-lacto vegetarian diet.  That means that I ate dairy and eggs but no meat.  I chose to do this instead of vegan because I like Burt’s Bees, various candies, and I have leather products that I use in everyday life so veganism was too much of a commitment for me.  Some of you might be asking yourselves, “How can you not eat meat when it tastes so good?”  The answer is simple, I don’t really like cold cuts, turkey, or ham so I wasn’t eliminating much besides hamburgers, meat on my pizza, and chicken nuggets.  I found out that I like MorningStar products more than Boca.  I most commonly ate the black bean burgers and the veggie dogs.  The veggie dogs were soy based and the burgers were made with black beans obviously.  I would also sometimes get the chik’n nuggets and chik patties.  The easiest thing for me to make from ingredients in my kitchen was usually a quesadilla or grilled cheese (real original, I know).  I was lucky because in my hometown there was a vegan restaurant but any restaurant usually had a suitable option for me and they were willing to leave out the meat in certain dishes.  So about a year ago I decided to stop being vegetarian and I was talking to a friend about it all day then we decided to go to Red Robin and I had a bacon cheeseburger.  It was delicious.  For a while after that I still had vegetarian tendencies but now I’m back to “normal” even though I’m considering going back.  Have any of you been or are currently vegan or vegetarian?  What did or do you eat?

2 thoughts on “Back In The Day

  1. I am currently a vegetarian, but I try to avoid dairy and eggs as much as possible. Finding vegan food is a bit tougher since I’ve been living on campus. I’m usually stuck with rice or a salad, but in the fall I found wild mushrooms and I also grew chives to eat.

    Like

Leave a Reply

